Standard Life Investments


Edmond Warner OBE *


Edmond Warner was appointed on 27 November 2008. He is Chairman of UK Athletics, the sport's national governing body, and online derivatives exchange LMAX. He has been a top ranked investment strategist in the surveys of institutional investors, and a leading commentator on financial and business matters in both the press and broadcast media. He is also the Chairman of BlackRock Commodities Income Investment Trust Plc and Grant Thornton UK LLP, and a non-executive director of Clarkson PLC.

Alastair Barbour **


Alastair Barbour was appointed on 1 April 2011. He is a chartered accountant and was formerly a partner of KPMG and has specialised in financial services with extensive experience in advising on accounting, financial reporting and corporate governance. He is also a non-executive director of RSA Insurance Group plc, Phoenix Group Holdings PLC, Liontrust Asset Management PLC and CATCo Reinsurance Opportunities Fund Ltd and, overseas, a non-executive director of The Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son Limited.

Alan Devine


Alan Devine was appointed on 28 May 2014. He holds an MBA and is a Fellow of the Institute of Bankers in Scotland, with a wide background of knowledge and some 40 years' experience in both commercial and investment banking. Alan has recently retired from The Royal Bank of Scotland Group (RBS) where he had been CEO of RBS Shipping Group and a non-executive director of Cairn Capital Ltd, an asset management company in which RBS held a significant shareholding.

Christina McComb ***


Christina McComb was appointed on 29 January 2013. Christina has a background in Private Equity and Venture Capital Investment, having spend much of her career at leading private equity firm 3i Group plc. She is currently Chairman of OneFamily Mutual Assurance and a non-executive director of Baronsmead Venture Trust PLC and Nexeon Ltd. Christina is also Senior Independent Director of the British Business Bank, the government owned development bank supporting access to finance for UK SMEs.

David Warnock


David Warnock was appointed on 26 January 2009. He has over 35 years' investment experience in both public and private companies, in both the UK and USA. He co-founded Aberforth Partners LLP and was a partner for 19 years until his retirement from the firm in 2008, prior to which he was with Ivory & Sime plc and before that with 3i Group plc. He is also Chairman of Troy Income & Growth Trust plc, a non-executive director of Seneca Investment Managers Ltd, and an active investor in a number of private companies.

* Edmond Warner is Chairman of the Management Engagement and Nominations Committees.

** Alastair Barbour is Chairman of the Audit Committee.

*** Christina McComb is the Senior Independent Director.

All of the directors are members of the Audit, Management Engagement and Nominations Committees.

Standard life Investment